Press "Enter" to skip to content

LSG, Sanwo-Olu Organise Judicial Panel


Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the Lagos State Governor on Thursday, has set up a seven-man Judicial Panel to investigate cases of brutality and human rights violations committed by operatives of the dissolved Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) in the State.

The move is part of the steps being taken by the Lagos Government to address the demands of the youths demonstrating against SARS brutality. The announcement was made by the governor himself during a live address held at the State House, Marina.

The panel is headed by retired Justice Doris Okuwobi who is mandated to sit for six months and thoroughly investigate all verifiable claims of abuses and fatalities arising from SARS engagement in the State, with the main objective to bring the erring officers to justice and get compensation for the victims.

The Governor said;

“I attended a National Economic Council Sub-Committee Meeting in which the major focus was the ongoing EndSARS protests and the necessary steps to take to assuage the feelings of the protesters. In line with the five-point demands of the protesters, we unanimously decided to inaugurate a panel of investigation into human rights abuses.

“A seven-member Judicial Panel of Enquiry and Restitution for victims of SARS-related abuses in Lagos State is now being constituted. This panel will ensure that all those with verifiable cases of SARS brutality or fatality get justice and receive compensation. The panel will be chaired by retired Justice Doris Okuwobi.

“Other panel members are Mr. Ebun Adegboruwa, SAN (representing the Civil Society), Taiwo Lakanu (a retired Deputy Inspector General of Police), Ms. Patience Udoh (representing the Civil Society), Mr. Segun Awosanya (Human Rights Activist), Mrs. Olutoyin Odusanya (Director, Lagos Citizens Mediation Center), as well as a representative of the youth-led protest and a representative of the Human Rights Commission.”

Sanwo-Olu also mentioned the names of some erring officers that have ben fished out by the panel. The names include; Inspector Bagou Michael, Inspector Ekpoudom Etop, Sergeant Nnamdi Majura, and Sergeant Akinyemi Benson.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *